DLCC Essay Competition 2016

HHDL Meets Fellows. Photo by Keiko Keiko Ikeuchi.UPDATE: We deeply regret that, following recent medical treatment, the upcoming visit of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to the United Kingdom has been cancelled on doctor’s orders. The committee of the DLCC have determined that the essay competition will go ahead with a new date at which prizes will be awarded to be announced after the competition has been judged. His Holiness’ schedule permitting, the DLCC will arrange for the Dalai Lama to present certificates to prize-winners during a future visit.

Original post:

The Dalai Lama Centre for Compassion invites essays in or relating to ethics, by current students matriculated at the University of Oxford. The authors of the winning essays will be invited to a ceremony in Oxford at which prizes will be presented by Dalai Lama himself on 15th April 2016 (venue to be confirmed). A first prize of £250 and two further prizes of £100 each will be awarded. High quality submissions may also be published on the DLCC website.

Authors may address any topic relating to ethics, approached from the perspective of any academic discipline. Essays concerning areas of special interest to the DLCC are especially encouraged. Suitable topics might include:

The role of compassion in ethics

The nature of compassion and/or other virtues

Compassion and technological innovation

The place of ethics in the twenty-first century

The relation between ethics and science

The relation between ethics and religion

The relation between ethics and politics

The relation between ethics and business

Submissions should be no longer than 2,500 words in length, and must be written by matriculated students studying at the University of Oxford. Authors are encouraged to make their writing accessible to a wide audience whilst maintaining high scholarly standards. Submissions should be sent by email to ralph@dlccoxford.org no later than midnight on Friday 8th April 2016. Authors of winning essays will be informed by 11th April 2016.